The background and sky still have a lot of work to be done, but I felt that I had accomplished enough to begin working on the figures. From the scant information I’ve found, it is important in a piece of this size to work from back to front, and for the most part that is what I have done. Having never done a piece of this size or magnitude, I am relying on the information that I have gleaned through arduous study of the subject. It seems that the pedagogy of the Academy failed to appreciate that anyone would ever have the need to know the process to creating a piece in the “Grand Manner” outside the academy. Thus, a definitive lack of information written on the subject, a shame to say the least.

Having covered the canvas with tones nearly those of the expected finish, I feel that I am now able to gauge better the apparent values and local colors of the figures, these then will help to inform my final choices for Hue/Value/Chroma choices for the background. The modeling of the figures is where I believe I will have the most rapid execution, because it is where I have spent the majority of my time heretofore in preparation. However, the anticipation and anxiety of pulling this off is nearly more than I can bear…nearly. šŸ™‚

