Well, thanks to a dear friend, I was able to move the 10 journals, 100 sketches, 20 drawings, and 35 paintings over to the review. I passed with flying colors, but there is one provision…I must finish my monsterpiece. Ha ha!!!

Not that I didn’t have the best of intentions to finish, it is just when your degree waits upon the actual act, the pressure hasn’t subsided. I really was prepared for all scenarios going into today’s review- except that one. I don’t know why but I felt flattened a bit by it. I suppose that I thought that they would say, “Great, we get your intentions (although it isn’t finished), and you obviously have command of your medium,” or, “You obviously don’t have the skills capable to pull off this Herculean task you’ve imposed upon yourself, and therefore this is the cure”.  I wasn’t prepared for, “Yep, you can do it, we see that you can do…no go do”. It seems so obvious now that that was a likely outcome, but for some reason I just didn’t see it coming. I guess, on a subconscious level, I am just ready to be done: Done with this project, done with this painting, done with school, done with this chapter. I have till next December to finish it before my degree can be conferred.

After some time, and copious amounts of food and wine, I’ve come to the realization that this will be the best thing for me. If I was off the hook for this painting, it would be very easy to let it go and say, “That is good enough”. Knowing myself, I would probably get bored, and because there wasn’t a looming deadline, relegate this work to the pile of ones that “Didn’t quite work out”. This will force me see this project, and all the lessons therein, through to completion. So after some thought, I am thoroughly convinced that my committee (as much as I wouldn’t like to admit it) made the best possible decision for me that it feasibly could.

On the bright side, they were overwhelmed at the prodigious amount of work I was able to accomplish, especially considering my coaching regime, and were complimentary regarding my oeuvre, my skills, and my overall vision. Really, the only detriment to my presentation was my lack of completion. Not too bad.

Work in transit.

