One critic of my work and this blog stated, “I think you are going to be an art historian, not an artist.” The sting of those words is the prompt for this post. While the majority of this blog as of late has been dedicated to the works of others, that doesn’t negate the intention or direction of the author. In looking at the works of others for the majority of my life, it has always been with a longing, “To be as good as them.” France provided for me a new way to look at works by others, not as master and pupil, but as fellow sojourner. For the first time in my life I am able to do exactly what I want in art, and now I don’t need the lecture from masters.  Rather, I acknowledge my discussions with other artists works as if we are two plumbers sitting around discussing techniques and  sharing ways to approach a problem. As often the case, they will arrive at solutions better than either could have fashioned alone. Seeing master works now is like visiting older friends. They merely came along before me. However my own personal revelation reveals that that doesn’t mean they are necessarily wiser or heaven forbid “better”.

Last weekend, I visited the Gerome show (which I will write at length about later) at the Getty in LA. Like Bouguereau, Gerome indicates a way to solve problems, his solutions are elegant and extremely effective, these are my plumber buddies. Here then is what I have been doing in the interim months since my travels throughout France.

A watercolor study of some trees in the Versailles park:

A watercolor study of Blue Lake, Oregon:

A watercolor study of SF pines:

Chalk study of a donkey:

Chalk Study of a Bust:

Chalk study of a woman in sunglasses:

Study of a girl: (I assume by now that you know it is done in chalk)

Study of a hand:

Study of a woman’s face:

Study of a man’s head:

Study of a boy’s face:

Study of a girl in awe:

Study of a girl in the sunlight:

Study of a Frenchman:

Study of Bouguereau’s “Youth Defending Herself from Eros”:

Under-drawing for a portrait commission:

