I think that I’ve been transitioning into a different person…hopefully more spiritual, more kind, and more patient (The last one is not one of my better qualities). Somewhat symbolic then, that I just happened to do a painting last night of a Lotus blossom. I took the photo months ago, possibly in a park in Lyon. So this morning, when I came to post it, I didn’t know much about them. However, when doing a search, I found more than I expected. They have been an important part of many cultures, and most feel the same way about them. This I lifted from the internet:

“The Lotus flower is regarded in many different cultures –— specially in eastern religions β€” as a symbol of purity, enlightenment, self-regeneration and rebirth. Its characteristics are a perfect analogy for the human condition: even when its roots are in the dirtiest waters, the Lotus produces the most beautiful flower.”

On another site, I found this:

Lotus is the exquisite flower, which symbolizes purity. Surrounded by myths and legends, lotus is looked upon as a symbol of divine beauty. In the Asian religions and cultures, especially, in Buddhism and Hinduism, lotus flower is the embodiment of perfection. The magnificent lotus flowers emerge from the dirty and murky bottom of a pond, and yet remain untouched by all the dirt and mud of the environment, in which it grows. This unique quality of the flower is believed to represent the pure spirit. Apart from India and China, lotus is also regarded as a sacred flower in Egyptian culture.

Lotus is usually found in five different colors, white, red, blue, purple and pink. The white lotus is said to denote purity of the mind and spiritual perfection. The red lotus on the other hand, stands for the heart and hence, symbolize love, passion, compassion and the qualities akin to the original nature of heart. The blue lotus means wisdom and knowledge, and stands for the victory over the senses. Purple lotus is the mystic lotus, representing the esoteric sects. The delicate pink lotus is considered as the supreme of all lotus. This is the reason why, the main Hindu gods and Goddesses, and also ‘Buddha’ are shown to be seated on a pink lotus.

