Well, most people think that I am pretty crazy to try to run around the USA as it is. So now my next bit of information may prove to be the reason they are convinced of my insanity. I’m thinking of doing the whole thing barefoot. Since this last summer when I had so much pain in my Achilles from running and walking around Europe, I have had this nagging feeling that I should be running barefoot. That same small voice inside me that always seems to be working for my benefit has been leading me to these conclusions. So, the other day while running next to a big grassy field, I heard the voice say, “Try it, you’ll like it.” So I kicked off my shoes and socks and ran a quarter mile. The grass was wet with dew, and it felt wonderful. I haven’t felt that free running in a long time. My friend Steve and I used to play frisbee for hours in grass barefoot. Heck I did just about everything barefoot in Hawaii. With gymnastics, I’m barefoot all the time. Running barefoot now just felt like the natural extension.

So the first day I did a quarter mile. The next day a half mile, followed by a mile the third day. Today I went for a 10 mile run and I ran 3 of them barefoot. It was wonderful. It is different. I run completely different out of shoes…better. All my joints feel better, knees, ankles, and hips. Even the way I hold my arms is different, but that may be more to do with the fact that I am holding my shoes. My feet get a little abrasion, but pavement isn’t bad. Gravel is a little more difficult but grass is heavenly.

Mentally and spiritually, it is like I am trying to become more natural in every way. The paradigm shift that has taken place in my mind, soul, and spirit is now transitioning to my physical machine. I don’t know where I am going to go with this, but for the moment I am enjoying the experience. Check that…I am loving the experience.

