Throughout my life I have had experiences both good and bad. I thought I knew what love was, and I knew what peace was. But, without a doubt, I have experienced pain and hurt. As I got older, I became more cynical, hardened, lonely, angry, hurt, and afraid. I was like this dog. Older, more decrepit, and I trusted no one. This dog had been beaten, had mange, and was suffering from diarrhea. It certainly had not experienced love in a long time, but as I approached it, it had this look. A look that dared to hope that perhaps I was going to be kind to it, and yet all of its worldly knowledge has taught it to trust no one.

Last night I had the most amazing peaceful easy feeling wash over me like a wave, and then comfort me like a blanket. In our normal fashion my friend Susan and I were bantering back and forth via text. I volleyed one last quip, regarding my true profession– art. Her retort stunned me, stopped me dead in my tracks, and helped me feel a deep sense of peace that I haven’t ever known before. Regarding my true profession as an artist, she said:

“That part of you is priceless.”

It meant so much to me because I knew she meant it. I had accomplished my goal…at least once. I had shared my love of art and life with another human soul, and they got it and their life was better because of their own process of awakening. Scaughdt and I have talked about this as well.

“The ego wants us to conform our defintions of “Success” to match societal expectations.  It took a few years to let that one go, and yet let it go I have.  These days, if only one sentient being is assisted in any way, it is seen as a complete SUCCESS.  This mentality not only removes a big chunk of the “performance anxiety” that tends to accompany such selfless ventures as ours, but it also harmonizes with the Greater Truth that every being is indeed priceless and worthy alone of being assisted in any way.”

And, as I contemplated what her words meant…it hit me, the complete understanding of it. What I knew of love before, what I knew of peace before was absolutely nothing. For the first time ever in my life I had a glimpse of the divine peace and universal joy. I finally was able to taste it, to just tip my toe in to the stream of what REAL love is. Dumbfounded and humbled these words rang in my ears:

Oh who would have ever known this
Could be this easy
I was a long, long way off
Then just like that it was over
Everything I knew of love
I was a long, long way off

And I think I like how the day sounds
Like how the day sounds through this new song

Thank you for opening the window
The sky is clear as my mind is now
I was a long, long way off
Join me in welcoming the sun in
It’s much brighter than the night I hid in
I was a long, long way off

And I think I like how the day sounds
Like how the day sounds through this new song
And I think I like how the day sounds
Like how the day sounds through this new song

From a long way down.

Yeah, it’s well worth the time that its taken to get here now
Yeah, it’s well worth the time that its taken to get here now

So go ahead and bang a gong
Nothing can drown out the sound and the whisper of my love

And I think I like how the day sounds
Like how the day sounds through this new song
And I think I like how the day sounds
Like how the day sounds through this new song
Through this new song
Through this new song

And the lines have all been drawn
I know where I belong, where I belong,
Where I belong
And the lines have all been drawn
I know where I belong
Where I belong

And I think I like how the day sounds
Like how the day sounds through this new song
And I think I like how the day sounds
Like how the day sounds through this new song

Oh, won’t you sing along
Oh, my love won’t you sing along
Oh, won’t you sing along
Oh, my love won’t you sing along
Oh, won’t you sing along
Oh, my love won’t you sing along
Oh, won’t you sing along
Oh, my love won’t you sing along

So now, with this new knowledge, I step out into the world as a babe, willing to be “Born Again” in a way. Willing to love others using what I have learned, and seeking to help others achieve peace. At least that is my aim.

