I can’t sleep. Been thinking about too many things. The world isn’t right. Nuclear disaster in Fukushima. War in Iraq. War in Afghanistan. War in Libya. Starvation around the world. Lack of clean water. Melting polar ice caps. Global climate change. Oil spill in the gulf. Homelessness. Wealth disparity. Governmental corruption. Genocide. Hunger. Starvation. Racism. Intolerance. Hate.

Apathy.

And most of us don’t give a shit. Some people are more offended by the fact that I typed “shit” than all the problems listed above. All could be avoided with a little kindness. A little care. A little love. A little selfless giving. Like Gandhi said, “An ounce of practice is worth more than tons of preaching.”

So my job is to live life as a shoe, at the end of my days–to be worn out. I sail my ship alone and I still deal with mutinies, but my path is clear and my course is set. I can love, I can be kind, I can draw, and I can paint. The 10,000 Portrait Project is to show each other what we are made of. “Every portrait that is painted with feeling is a portrait of the artist, not of the sitter.”- Oscar Wilde

Hopefully, we all see love.

