Regardless of what we may think of Michael Jackson, the song “Man In The Mirror” has some challenging lyrics. It was actually written and composed by Glen Ballard and Siedah Garrett. The lyrics present an imperative, bringing to mind the sincerity with which they must have experienced the awakening realization that it must begin with inner peace. This calls into question how much any of us step out upon our realizations and inward revelations.

I was playing guitar with a good friend last night with who just overcame cancer. He is a young man in his early 30’s and a single father of a little girl. He has experienced a bit of life himself. While I was listening to him play, he presented me with a gift, and he played this song. Afterwards, I asked if he had played it for me? To which replied yes, having just discussed my inward journey for peace. It was an honor to receive such a gift from a friend. For lack of a better phrase, the song really “ministered” to me, even more so because it came from someone who has confronted death, and finds it still best to give.

Now if only I and everyone else could just live it.

I’m Gonna Make A Change,
For Once In My Life
It’s Gonna Feel Real Good,
Gonna Make A Difference
Gonna Make It Right . . .

As I, Turn Up The Collar On My
Favourite Winter Coat
This Wind Is Blowin’ My Mind
I See The Kids In The Street,
With Not Enough To Eat
Who Am I, To Be Blind?
Pretending Not To See
Their Needs
A Summer’s Disregard,
A Broken Bottle Top
And A One Man’s Soul
They Follow Each Other On
The Wind Ya’ Know
‘Cause They Got Nowhere
To Go
That’s Why I Want You To
Know

I’m Starting With The Man In
The Mirror
I’m Asking Him To Change
His Ways
And No Message Could Have
Been Any Clearer
If You Wanna Make The World
A Better Place
Take A Look At Yourself, And
Then Make A Change

I’ve Been A Victim Of A Selfish
Kind Of Love
It’s Time That I Realize
That There Are Some With No
Home, Not A Nickel To Loan
Could It Be Really Me,
Pretending That They’re Not
Alone?

A Willow Deeply Scarred,
Somebody’s Broken Heart
And A Washed-Out Dream

They Follow The Pattern Of
The Wind, Ya’ See
Cause They Got No Place
To Be
That’s Why I’m Starting With
Me

I’m Starting With The Man In
The Mirror

I’m Asking Him To Change
His Ways

And No Message Could Have
Been Any Clearer
If You Wanna Make The World
A Better Place
Take A Look At Yourself And
Then Make A Change

