How does one take a compliment? Usually I just say thank you. But, how does one take it internally? This weekend while at the Huntington, I did this drawing of a terra cotta bust.

A girl walked by and exclaimed, “Wow! That is dead accurate!”

After my visit, I was talking on the phone to my dad, and he gave me a sincere and generous compliment on my drawings as of late. Both made me feel good of course, but how does one deal with compliments when attempting to be humble? I don’t mean some stupid retort like, “Give the glory to God”, I hate it when people say that kind of a thing. But, how does one realize, or better verbalize, a sense of gratitude to speaker of the compliment, and to the universe for allowing you to be a part of the process. This is especially so when you don’t feel that you have done anything miraculous or wonderful, you just were doing what you wanted to do–what you felt compelled to do.

I don’t know if there is anything else to do??? So for now, I will just continue to say thank you. The more I learn it seems that all that is important in life is a feeling of thankfulness. It all begins with gratitude.

