I made this graphic yesterday for my new website. I’m finding the site harder to put together than originally planned. I may end up having to outsource it, but I would like to be able to do myself. Coupling that with a string of really bad drawings, and I find I don’t have much to show for the week. It is a bit discouraging, but I guess I just have a lot on my mind. I know when I set down to draw or paint I’m not all the way there. I’m thinking of all the things I need to get done in these last weeks.

It seems that this whole endeavor, when compared to its blueprint, has a different tone and spirit in reality. It appears I must ask myself, “Why am I doing this?” It seemed so clear before– when it was all ethereal, but now that it is becoming real, it is a bit more sobering then originally thought.

My Dad drew a nice analogy for me the other night. He likened my sojourn to a man setting out to sea in order to sail around the world. Fitting that at the beginning of this journey I did read the book of the first man to sail around the globe single-handedly– Joshua Slocum. Slocum was an amazing pilot and captain, who built a ship that ran so true he rarely veered off course. His journey was fraught with dangers; those at sea, from man, and from self.

His journey was borne upon the breeze- windward and leeward; fair and trade. My journey is born upon ideas- love and compassion; art and peace. The ark of his voyage was craft left to rot in a field, a vessel relegated to oblivion. Months were spent in refurbishing a bark that all others would let perish. He encountered and weathered the lambasting statements of naysayer’s who were never in short supply. Although he gave a good pitch, he must have had moments of doubt. In the end, he persisted and proved it could be done.

Slocum’s odyssey is a far cry from the navigators of today who enjoy the comforts of SAT phones, GPS, watermakers, microwaves, and autopilots. I suppose my trek is different from from that first purposed by Mildred Norman as she stepped out in 1953 as the Peace Pilgrim. Regardless of the laptops and cellphones, the radar and atomic clocks of today, sailors are still at the mercy of the wind and the sea. Slocum despite his prowess as a pilot and helmsman, despite his best efforts could not move his craft an inch by his own breath. I must allow myself to be borne upon the spirit of love. It is my fervent prayer that my devotion to art and a longing to bring peace to all whom I encounter be the zephyr that fills my sails.

