Harriet. Sweet Harriet.

Hard-hearted harbinger of haggus.

Beautiful, bemused, belicose butcher.

So knowing, so trusting, so lov-ed.

He wants you back he screams into the night air,

like a fireman going to a window that has no fire, ‘cept the passion of his heart.

I am lonely,

It’s really hard.

This poem sucks.

Yesterday, I took the day off to rest my legs. My friend Susan drove up from SF and loaded me up with food…so kind! She really took care of me bringing me cookies, toothpaste, bread, fruit, and love. Life is good when you have friends that really support what you do and love you. I am lucky. Unfortunately, I am not lucky enough, I have poison oak AGAIN, and this time it is the worst! I love the Pacific coast except for poison oak.

So yesterday I sat in Starbucks and gave away paintings and drawings to whomever wanted them. Pennah took the one with the windmill, and Garry took the pen and wash drawing of the river. Garry is a very kind soul, he and his friends talked to me at length about peace, love, and being a Quaker. At the end of the end of our conversation, he invited me to stay at his house when I get closer. Very kind.

After that, I met Harriet. Harriet too was spending the day in Starbucks. Harriet is homefree or houseless, but you wouldn’t know it. We talked for quite a bit of time before she related to me that fact. I asked her if she was hungry, and was able to share some of the abundant bounty that Susan had lavished upon me. Ten minutes later, Garry came back and asked if he could buy me a Safeway grocery card. I was blown away by this man’s compassion and generosity. Harriet was sitting next to me, I knew that I had enough food still (Susan doesn’t mess around) and told him that Harriet might be in need.

I didn’t want to out her, and I apologized about that, but she didn’t mind. Garry was sweet, and ran over to the Safeway and got the card and gave it to her. I thanked and hugged him. How amazing to be witness to this beautiful man being so generous. He was “being” the love.

The Jesus’s, Buddhas, Muhammeds, St. Francis’s, and Gandhi’s are all around us. People are doing great, wonderful, and compassionate things all the time. People are good, people are kind.

Love, Art, and Peace to all.

