Feeling very happy. I just completed my first radio interview. It was on an Arts show hosted by Elizabeth Stewart with KZSB in Santa Barbara. I was really quite nervous, I wanted to be able to represent peace, love, and compassion faithfully…genuinely. I was getting myself a bit worked up, but then my buddy Dave put me at easy and reminded me what will be— will be. I just hope that peace was central and not me. Hopefully too it provided some food for thought.

One of the questions that Elizabeth was interested in is how I can support 25 miles a day running by the generosity of the universe and strangers. She hit upon something that I hadn’t really thought of; food isn’t the fuel that powers this trip. Truly as her co-host Chris pointed out, it is the intention to love and be compassionate that provides power source. It is as if the physical body becomes the embodiment of peace. Food helps though.

The universe does provide. I had mentioned two days ago to my friend Susan that I needed to eat more vegetables, and in my mind I was thinking celery and leafy greens. So no big surprise then that the universe just happened to have me run by fields of celery yesterday. In addition, they just happened to be harvesting it. Furthermore, as I ran by one of the workers just happened to offer me two stalks…coincidence or providence?

OK, the celery could be coincidence, but then explain the fact that I then ran by heaps and mounds of “rejected” tomatoes. Ones not “fit” to be sold in stores. It really made me sad though to see all this food go to waste when so many are hungry. I didn’t want to weigh down the cart too much, but free is a very good price. 🙂

It was really beautiful to look at though. Part of me just wanted to dive in, or at least have a food fight. Hopefully I can paint a painting that describes the beauty of the site.

After the tomatoes, the universe was kind enough to also give me some prickly-pear fruit. Tricky to get, but tasty in every way. Of course I was singing:

Now when you pick a pawpaw
Or a prickly pear
And you prick a raw paw
Next time beware
Don’t pick the prickly pear by the paw
When you pick a pear
Try to use the claw
But you don’t need to use the claw
When you pick a pear of the big pawpaw
Have I given you a clue ?

Finally I settled last night on the beach north of Malibu. I met three lads that were there to watch the sunset.

It was one of the finest I’ve ever seen, and I was envious of the surfers vying for the last waves before night covered all in darkness. Just before that happened, in that magic lighting, it seemed that the sea was covered with lavender foam. Beautiful.

One of the guys said, “It is really a great thing you are doing.” And for the first time I kind of reflected, this is something I am DOING, and not attempting anymore. Nearly 2000 miles in, and it is obvious finally to me that I am able to love as I desire, and compassion can be my focus. I’m not trying or hoping anymore, I am doing it…and everyone else can too. We can all choose to love, even when we don’t really want to. Thank you all for the wonderful things that you have been doing for peace, love, art, and compassion. Thank you all for supporting me in my endeavor to do the same.

