I never really got the acknowledgement section of books before. Having never written one, it just seemed a little personal…an odd thing to put right at the beginning of a book. Having begun something much bigger than myself, I kind of get it now. The acknowledgement section isn’t for anyone but the persons listed after it, and the handful of people that know both the author and the supporter.

That being said, I wish you all did know my Winnie. More than any other person, she has supported this endeavor with fervor only matched, and at times even eclipsing my own. The list of ways that she has enabled this trek is so long that even I have trouble keeping track. But, needless to say she has cared for me from head to foot…literally.

Perhaps you have heard of the 5 languages of love: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service, Gifts, and Physical Touch. We all have ways in which we like to share and give love, and ways that we like to receive it. Often those ways aren’t the same. Winnie is a giver, she gives acts of service to everyone, and she gives gifts to all who are in need. But, as I’ve come to know Winnie I’ve learned that words of affirmation are her favorite way to receive love. Winnie you are loved.

There isn’t much I can tell you about Winnie as she prefers to be remain anonymous, but I can tell you that she did ask me one thing. She asked to be my 200th piece, and she asked me if I could—paint her single rose. Well, this is my 200th piece, and one single rose didn’t seem enough, so I painted a couple. Thank you Winnie.

Thank you to all the other “Winnie” people out there that have supported me along the way. 200 pieces in 120 days’ish. Here is to 9,800 more!

 

