Logan is my little buddy. When he was little he couldn’t say “uncle”, but he could say the Persian word for uncle—Amu. Logan’s favorite thing to do with me is build legos. He and I can sit for hours working in concert to construct various monstrosities and works of art. I love this kid.

He is also one of the most selfless people I’ve ever known. The other day he was eating a Subway sandwich and I noticed olives were all out on the paper. I asked him if he didn’t want them (thinking that he didn’t like them like so many kids), he said, “Oh no, I like them, but you can have them Amu.” As much as I told him to eat them, he wouldn’t because he thought that I wanted them. When his little brother throws temper tantrums or hits Logan, Logan is tolerant with him and never returns his wrath with malice, but is often angelic in his patience.

He asked me what I am doing running around the country, and why do I have to go? I told him that I was wondering the same thing. I was trying to figure out why I should be out there instead of staying here. I told him, “The reason I am leaving is that there are a lot of people and little boys who have never had an “Amu” before. People that have never known what it is like to be loved like I love him.

He thought about this for awhile and said, “As much as I want you to stay, I want everyone else to feel what it is like to have a best friend.” There aren’t many admonitions that could be as encouraging as that.

Love, Art, & Peace to All.

