Most of the time, I don’t talk to people first, but I allow people to comment on the art I’m doing. Their own curiosity and love of beauty starts our conversations. But today, from the moment I entered the Dairy Queen, I could tell that “All was not well in the state of Denmark.”

People always look at me curiously, perhaps even sometimes out of fear. But the look of revulsion…that has nothing to do with me. It lies only with the viewer, and as such says more about their world view. A world view of conformity and fear. But, it is what is in them that they are afraid of, not what is in me. It makes me so sad for them. It makes me have compassion for them. As such I do what I can to be nice to them, because that is what they need…love.

On the other hand, there are people like Marie, who I could tell was having a tough day. She was trying to be kind to everyone…but it was becoming tough. Whether it was her co-workers, the customers, or something from home I could not tell, and did not ask. But, what I could do was paint her a picture. I could try to make her day better. She didn’t know what to make of me, and perhaps saw me as just another distraction or hurdle, but I could love on her.

Stephanie walked by and saw this painting, and said, “That’s pretty,” and so I gave this one to her. Her family was giggling, not sure what to make of a stranger in this small town. But Taylor wasn’t giggling, she was interested. I could tell by her look that she wouldn’t mind having a piece as well, and so I gave her one too. As they were leaving, the grandfather came over and thanked me.

It is within our power to change the world one picture at a time, one kind act at a time, one comforting word at a time. How do you want the rest of your life to play out?

