I imagine that Superman did more good deeds dressed as Clark. The big jobs always called for superman, but Clark performed the everyday ordinary “miracles”. WE each possess the ability to be extraordinary while dressed as a mild-mannered reporter.

Superheroes are around us everywhere. But one of the characteristics of all superheroes is that they conduct their marvels in anonymity. I too am a reporter, and I bring to you the stories of the heroes I know.

Abe’s mother, through no fault of her own, found herself on hard times. An immigrant woman from Central America, she worked hard and lived her life with a good conscious. She raised Abe and his siblings, and although they didn’t always have everything they wanted, they had what they needed…growing up to be good people.

Abe and his roommates demonstrated their love and compassion by letting his mother move in with them. During this same time Abe busted his butt working overtime at his job to pay off her debts and accumulating enough money to send her back home to a home, job, and happiness she left behind. Everyone sacrificed. Everyone won.

For most males in the world, establishing yourself as a “man” if often a difficult path. It is as “Peter the Man” that my friend has moved all the way back to Georgia to be the breadwinner for his family and assume the family mantle. Peter learned of his father’s looming passing from kidney failure that has morphed into cancer, and dropped his entire life on this coast to be there for his family in their moment of need.

Scott gives it all. He works everyday. He never takes days off. He loves gymnastics and the boys he coaches so much. He even gives them private lessons on his only day off. In addition, he comes to the gym in the morning and coaches for free to help a bunch of college gymnasts trying to take it to the next level during summer break. Afterwards, he comes back to the gym and works even longer hours at night. All summer, Scott will pull daily doubles, 9 hour Saturdays, and give up his day off to help children and young men achieve their dreams.

George is working on creating a music and arts program for disadvantaged youth. He is parlaying his knowledge of not-for-profit business and a degree in engineering to provide and ensure that art and music are available to any child who would want to partake.

Larry, the poet with whom I’ve written of before (shardsofglass), had to make the hard choice of allowing his mother to pass this week. He took on the burden and gave the order to “Do Not Resuscitate” his 90 year old mother…7 days before her 91st birthday. It was the compassionate thing to do he knows…the right thing even, but he says, “It sure doesn’t feel like it.”

As I write this, Peder and Garry are in Laos right now distributing medical supplies, toys, books, and building clinics and schools. They have collected all the supplies and made the dream of helping those less fortunate a reality.

Sean is an 18-year-old young man who is just graduating from high school. He wrote me to say:

“There isn’t a week that goes by where I don’t think about your “Beingness” at least once. There are people that come around and awaken the heart and speak with Love instead of words, and you were one of those people for me. If we never physically meet again, you are surely with me in my heart.

I experience a lot of friction in school. It’s hard being Love in a place that encourages isolation and criticism of each other. I struggle with the calling to be freely Love, and the tendency to conform and slip into habitual apathy. Many people I talk to about this tell me that it gets easier to be yourself once you’re out of school but what I have learned is that right here is the whole world with regards to my human perspective and every moment is an opportunity to be the change. And adults seem to live within the same hostile world as myself. My struggle is when must I let go? The societal demands are only getting louder and I am losing myself in a loveless existence.

You have the courage to let God shine through you. You showed Me to myself and inspired me to give that to others.”

This from a “kid” really, and yet he possess a wisdom and love unheard of amongst his peers. To answer his question about when to “let go”, I offer the examples of the above heroes. People, just like him, being extra ordinary, people being extraordinary—people being human. Humbly from my own experience I offer my own question and answer his own: “When it comes to choosing self vs. selfless, choose the option less taken. Love has yet to fail me.”

Ordinary people are being heroes all around us. Kind of inspiring when you realize anything is possible when it is compassion that is leading the way.

