My dad’s favorite watercolorist is the late Winslow Homer. There are many similarities between Homer and myself. I was taught to paint by my father, studied art all around the world, and came to watercolor/gouache later in life. Homer was originally taught to paint by his mother, then he studied with lithographers and in Paris with members of the Barbizon School.

Homer began painting in watercolors much later in life at age 37 during a summer trip to Gloucester (Massachusetts) in 1873. Homer is noted for his informal homely “Sketchy” style. He filled the picture with large wash areas that are frequently blotted, scraped or accented with blossoms or other watermarks, and using drybrush in the foreground to reveal the paper’s surface texture. This is in sharp contrast to the painstaking “finish” preferred by advanced Victorian watercolorists.

The learning curve with watercolor as I have discovered is long, but I feel that I am “rounding the hump” so to speak, and I am able to produce works that…I appreciate at the very least. I feel that I am beginning to grasp the use of washes, lay in’s, and dry-brushing technique.

I was able to meet these sweet young friends at a local starbucks. The young man is leaving for Zambia in the morning, he and his companion both attend a local baptist college. They are living their beliefs. They are both trying and succeeding at loving the world in the ways that are most fun for them. They are trying in every which way they can. Trying to be the love here and Zambia. It was an honor to meet them, and an even greater honor to give them this watercolor.

