It was a big step to walk out there for a year doing everything I could think of to be the best person I could be. But it was admittedly easier in many ways to staying put in one spot. When you have single-serving acquaintances, I mean people that you may not meet again, it allows you a little buffer for mistakes. If I make a mistake out there, it is a very slight chance that I will see them again. But, when you are in one spot the desire to make the best choices and love all those around you in every moment must be constantly on your mind. The idea that I want to live how I lived while walking…in every aspect, in everyway, in every situation, and with every human being is my goal and intention.

To live peace everywhere.

To declare a sovereign nation of peace.

And, by the way, anyone can be in this nation. The nation of love. Join me if you like.

It is daunting to think of, but I think that WE could be a nation of peace. Imagine that, the United States of Peace.

Wow, what if the USA was known as the nation of peace—instead of war. What if we set the example?

WE could do it, we could lead. Doesn’t every religion advocate peace? Does not every symbiotic relationship with nature dictate peace? Didn’t Christian, Muslim, and Jewish God say pound your tanks into tractors? Your guns into rakes? Your swords into plow shears and pruning hooks? Do it. Do it with me.

Everyone in America: Be the first to lay the gun down. Guns outnumber US citizens 10 to 1. Imagine if we all came together and melted them down together?

I want be the first nation, the first people who properly disposed of the nukes. Imagine the pride we would all have if we were the nation of peace. What if we led by example, if we the bully said,…”I want to stop being mean.” I want us all to be happy. I want us all to live.

When we do help another nation, like we helped Haiti and Indonesia after their catastrophes, then everyone would know that it is true, that the United States IS actually  trustworthy.

Winston Churchill said, “The US will always do the right thing…after they have exhausted every other possibility.” Dude, that sucks. I don’t want to be known for that.

Why not be the guy/girl that helps every time, straight away, without a cost/benefit analysis. Before thinking of self…to be selfless.

Our politicians can’t be expected to not lie, if we don’t follow that expectation ourselves. People wouldn’t be corrupt if WE weren’t. Our military wouldn’t be violent if we weren’t as a people. WE are who we want to be. We are the people.

“We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defense (through non-violence and compassion), promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity.”

What if we really believed it? What if we all really believed and we lived it? Lived Order, Union, Justice, Tranquility, Welfare, Blessings, Liberty, and Peace?

How much would we love if we knew we would never get hurt? That no one would ever let us down…and we would never let others down. What if we loved unabashedly like that anyway, come what may?

I cannot ask you to do anything that I am not willing to do. As Gandhi said so long ago, if you want peace, you must be it. I am prepared.

  1. For the next month, I have been offered a studio in Arizona to just paint. That I will do.
  2. I will still give artwork away, and number them in sequential order in order to reach the goal of 10,000 artworks.
  3. I will begin to sell artworks by auction online via EBay.
  4. All the proceeds from the sales will go to buy gymnastics equipment or the vehicle to transport it to and from the juvenile detention center. There as often as possible I will try to show the children there…there is another way.
  5. In September I will begin working as a gymnastics instructor.
  6. All the funds will be saved in order to purchase a home/land for living in sync with the land, growing food for and housing homeless teens, women, and children.
  7. I will continue to live as Pilgrim/Monk/Sage/Human Being/Whatever makes you happy to call it…but seeking to give love without concern or worry. To lead by following love. To demonstrate through humility, it can be done.
  8. I didn’t run all 10,000. That is not what it was about, but without running I couldn’t have gone. I had to take the first proverbial step. Really. I will continue to run to make my body a vessel for service.The often-quoted Mao Se Tung or Lao Tzu statement:

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.”

That’s right. It does. But this journey has no horizon. It isn’t about birth to death, point to point. It is about always now. When is the time to love, act, help, and love? The time is now.

The terrain of the journey may change…….…the steps do not. My quest must continue. And, I will continue to literally run…………………………..why not?

If our species is going to survive, we must begin to value our bodies. WE all must begin to make ourselves fit. The sickness of our bodies emanates from what lives in our minds. WE are all guilty of choosing poorly. WE have chosen self…a lot.

I will continue to run. And if perhaps, you run with me, we can make our bodies a better tool. Many people go on diets all the time to get into shape but ultimately most fail. They chose to do it for selfish reasons, they didn’t do it for selfless ones.

The successful ones do things because the goal is others. The woman who stops smoking for her children, the guy who becomes a vegan because he has had two heart attacks and wants to help his grandchildren, these are the people who succeed.

Success is greatest, when you get in shape because we want to have a tool to use for others? Your body is a tool for love. If you don’t get of the couch…whom do you meet? Whom can you love? 

“He who knows others is wise. 
He who knows himself is enlightened. He who controls others may be powerful, 
but he who has mastered himself is mightier still. Man’s enemies are not demons, but human beings like himself. The sage does not hoard. 
The more he helps others, the more he benefits himself. 
Having bestowed all he has on others, he has yet more; 
having given all he has to others, he is richer still.”
- Lao Tzu

If WE desire to have world peace, we must first have peace in our own nation. For peace here in the US, we must first have peace in our regions, before that our states. Before states, our counties, cities, and towns. Before peace in a town, our community and our neighborhood. Before neighborhood, our families, and our lovers.

Before one can have peace with any other person, one must have peace within.

No one can know world peace, if they do not know inner peace.

I have started with myself. I next moved to my family and friends, then to co-workers, and finally to the nation as a whole, and through social media to the world.

WE can do it. Begin local…extend global.

It is really quite simple: Be Kind.

