Barn on eBay

After having spent much time and thought about the purpose of life, I have come to a couple of conclusions that make life make sense…at least to me. I don’t presume or presuppose that all will agree with my summation, but I feel if we just tried it for a day or perhaps a week, the world would see the validity of such a mindset, and adopt it wholeheartedly. As such, the world would be much a different place.

It seems the modus operandi of most people falls into a couple of categories.

  1. There is a belief by some in a grand purpose, a grand scheme if you will. As Shakespeare wrote, “All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players: They have their exits and their entrances; And one man in his time plays many parts.” This promotes a question, “we are too inept to know it, and to weak fulfill it grandly?”
  2. The other is we have no purpose, we are just an accident of amino acids in the far corner of the cosmos, and we are merely at the whim of hormones, the fundamental forces, and our genetic evolution.

Either way you must as ask the simple question of, “Why be good?” “Why be kind?”

In scenario one, one must be good because there is some cosmic force that will either punish or reward you for being good. In scenario two, the reason to be kind is merely a path to continue living. If you encounter hostility, return the same to continue living, reproducing, and evolving.

For me, neither of the above seems to meet with much success, evidence: The World.

I propose a third mode of operation by which one can use this human-bio-body-suit. For me, my sole purpose is to love. That is why it feels so good. Everything about us is made to love in my opinion. Yes it makes no sense to love despite what others give you in return, but once you have truly loved despite what other do or say to you…you realize there is no other reason to continue to exist.

We say of young lovers that they are “madly in love”. Think about what that truly means. The young couple looses all sense, all dictum, all decorum, all sensibility, and all lucidity. They are swept up in insanity…loving with reckless abandon. They have gone insane for love.

Chemically, they are getting high.

Their brains are pumping our copious amounts of neo-epinephrine, dopamine, and oxytocin. This triple cocktail makes us trust one-another, serve one-another, and be willing to die for one-another. Who wouldn’t want to feel love like that at all times.

You can.

You simply must choose to care. When we see all people as worthy, loving, capable, compassionate, human beings…it makes it very easy. It is the choice to do so that is so incredibly hard at times. We all know about that.

I have failed a bit at that lately.

I got tired of hearing that I was going to hell when I was in the south. I allowed myself to stop having compassion for those who said those things to me. I forgot to see them as hurting and scared children, clinging so desperately to a hope that THEY had found the TRUTH…and everyone else is lost.

The Dalai Lama remarked after meeting with some monks that were incarcerated by the Chinese for 20 years. In prison, these monks were tortured, beaten, sodomized, and killed. The Dalai Lama himself was impressed when he talked to the leader of the group after they were released. He told the Dalai Lama, “Even though every horrible thing that could happen to us did happen, we never lost compassion for our captors.”

Think of it. They never lost compassion for the people that were beating them, raping them, torturing them, and killing them. Who am I to do less?

So forgive me people of the south, those with whom I lost my patience, and those with whom I got frustrated. I forgive you, please forgive me, and I love you.

We all forget to love. But, this moment right now is all we have. No need lamenting the past. Instead, love all those who you can right now in this moment, and if possible make amends.

“Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.”― Rumi

As I watch this politically charged atmosphere in the US germinate into a wicked plant whose only fruits are mistrust, deceit, anger, and violence. I am reminded that all men are my brothers, all women are my fathers. Wrong and right, republican and democrats, Christian and Muslim are but mental and verbal constructs, impediments to us loving each other.

“Out beyond ideas of wrong doing and right doing there is a field. I’ll meet you there. When the soul lies down in that grass the world is too full to talk about.”― Rumi

I will choose to be kind not because of a fear of retribution for ill deeds, and not to merely assure that my seed lives on, but rather I choose to be kind because it is what you deserve. You are beautiful. I love you…even if sometimes I forget.

 

 

