Jason is a landscape architect. I’ve seen him a couple of times around town. I knew of a bed of beautiful flowers that I was wanting to paint in a neighborhood that I frequent. When I arrived to paint them, Jason was working right across the street. He hollered, “You still running those 10,000 miles huh?”

“Yes sir. I ran down here to paint these flowers. If you’d like, I’ll give you one of the pictures when I am done to give to your wife.” I said.

“That would be very kind. Her name is Mary.” He replied.

It seems that in many places around the country, and in those places that I’ve run through, people tell me about a certain character or individual in their community that helps bring the community together. In Gold Beach, Oregon there is a man that dances down the street, waves a mighty big hello to everyone, salutes firefighters and policemen, and gives hi-fives to kids. In Waco, Texas, there is a man who dresses up like Jesus and pulls a big cross all over town and is very kind to everyone. He often stands on a pedestrian overpass on the freeway, and just waves and smiles to cars.

In San Marcos, Texas there is a man that many refer to as the “Sun Worshipper,” others call him “King Triton,” and one group dubbed him the “Golden Man.” Although there are different names for him, they all characterize a San Marcos, Texas resident for daily dancing at Sewell Park. Dillon Scott, said he likes to give advice to the people who talk to him. “Nobody has to go through what I went through. That is the message I want to tell you guys. If you follow your dreams and go the way you want the universe will support you,” Scott said.

Scott said he encourages students to get their degree and work, but to do so in a different way. “Use your intuition, creative thoughts, desires, dreams, wishes, fairies and little mermaids to make this a better world,” Scott said. “Be a child. It is not what you do it is who you are.”

When I was a kid, there was a guy named “Singing Sam” that we all would see around town. We would all get excited to see and here this man. He was a cowboy who would put on his cowboy hat and boots and ride his bicyle all over town singing C&W songs. You could hear him coming for blocks, and everyone would come out to wave.

Every place has people trying to tear down, destroy, and create disharmony. They are motivated by pain, fear, and loneliness. And, every place has people trying to create unity, brotherhood, community, and inclusion. They are motivated by compassion, kindness, peace, and love. Which person are you? Which person am I?

I believe we can all be the peace in our community. Simple stuff like just giving away a smile, a wave, a song, or a painting is a good start. Be the love in a world that needs it so badly.

Someone else said to me the other day, “Aren’t you here to teach us peace?”

“No, ” I said, “I am not your teacher. Everything you need to know about peace you already know. It is in you. You everyone else manifest it everyday.”

“No way, ” he said, “People are awful to each other.”

“Yes they are.” I replied, “But, we are more kind more often than we are mean. You don’t try to kill everyone who cuts you off in traffic?”

“No, but I would like to. But I don’t because I don’t like the consequences. I don’t want to go to jail,” he responded.

“If there were no threat of jail, you would kill someone because they cut you off then? I don’t think so. That isn’t who you are. Peace isn’t that you don’t get frustrated, peace is that you do the kindest thing you can think of. Not ramming your car into another maybe the kindest thing you can manage. It isn’t much, but it is peace,” I countered.

“Peace is inside you. The easiest way to know what peace looks like is to ask the question. What would you do if you had a minute, a day, or a week to live? Who would you want with you? Whom would you want to love. If you were on a plane that was crashing, wouldn’t you want to be a peace with anyone and everyone around you in your last moment?” I said.

Someone asked me yesterday what I thought about 2012 and the end of the world. I said, “If December 21 is the end of the world, I am so happy that I spent my last year on Earth and that my last addition to the thing we call humanity and civilization was attempting to be kind, attempting to love, and attempting to BE love.

What more could any of us want for our final hour of life?

