The key to any success in making a resolution is to start with a plan to break it. Diets fail because the don’t allow for a time of rest. Chocolate cake tastes much better when you have waited all week to have a slice. 6 days of work, but one day of rest is what the body handles best. When you want to succeed at anything, intentions not rules are the best to follow.

Trying to eat local is hard. I look at where the ingredients come from. My favorite cereal, which just happens to be called “Peace” cereal is made right here in Eugene. The soy milk came from Tualatin, the Kettle Chips from Salem, and the beer from Reedsport. All within 100 miles.

However, the Avocado that I wanted to put in the salad came from Chile…the watermelon from Mexico…and the veggie burger from Wisconsin. So, I did without.

Now I could get all technical about where the vanilla came from, the spices, the brown sugar, etc. But then I probably wouldn’t have been able to make the pies or cookies that I delivered to the homeless this week. But I did make sure to use eggs from cage free, organic, vegetarian diet chickens. Which was more important, doing without brown sugar because it came from California, or not making a homeless women’s eyes tear up at a slice of homemade pie?

I think it is about intention don’t you?

One of the 6 year olds that I coach was so excited about the candy that he got for Halloween, that he brought me the biggest one he received as a gift. A gift from him—just to me. Several of the boys brought me bags of candy because they thought I might like to share. I have set the precedent, I showed them my love by baking them cookies, they brought me their candy. The are just modeling the behavior I’ve demonstrated.

So…I ate the Mars bar that came from Illinois. What was more important, break my vow to eat local as much as possible, or to hurt a little boys feelings that his coach didn’t eat the treasure that he saved for him?

Doing the most good and the most compassionate thing in any moment is often going to require breaking our sacred cows…even the day after you make them. 🙂

