It seems that many people go and volunteer to feed the homeless at shelters on Thanksgiving and Christmas. Not many come the day after…but people are hungry then too. Perhaps more so. Mother Teresa said, “We think sometimes that poverty is only being hungry, naked and homeless. The poverty of being unwanted, unloved and uncared for is the greatest poverty. We must start in our own homes to remedy this kind of poverty.”

I am just one person, I can’t cook big dinners and set it up, keep it warm, and make sure I tables to serve on, utensils, and have people to feed. I can’t organize a big Thanksgiving dinner for 100 people…well not yet anyway. But, I can give homemade food to people on the street. I can follow my friend Mary Jean’s lead and give pie and chardonnay to someone all alone. I cannot do big things, but I can do the small ones. Perhaps what I can do is only a drop in the sea, but it is a drop that will contribute to the whole.

“If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one.” -Mother Teresa

So, instead of focusing on the one or two days that it seems everyone else is already focusing on, I’m gonna focus on the other 363 days of the year. Everyday when I ride to work, I take some food with me, everyday I give some away. Thank you to my friends who have helped me focus in small ways on the real problem: Making others feel loved.

