I have given away nearly 600 pieces of art. Because they were free to those who now possess them, their value is not based upon their lack of sale. The idea, at the time was not to foster value, but connectedness. Art of any value must affirm human interaction. The experience of the maker and those who possess the product.

The minutes of our lives and the moments noted in paint are transient, unlikely to last, and in-the-end easily destroyed. There are lost Leonardo’s, Caravaggio’s, and yes…even Peace Artist’s.  The very fact that art as a commodity is like the moments of one’s life makes it more valuable. It’s value is that it can be lost. There is only 1 number one. Only 1 #2. #100, #200, etc.

My entire life I have wished at every shooting star, candle blowout, and wishing well to become a famous artist. I wished this not for the fame it garnered, but to share my experience and how it looked, felt, smelled, and tasted to the wider world. To feel more connected to the Earth and experience itself as well as the viewer who experiences it through my hands and eyes.

Money, worth, and value judgments are destructive and completely miss the point. Our proper business, as human observers is curiosity and awareness.

Art therefore has no value. It is a necessity. A curious and feeble way to mark the experience of life’s passing.  This kind of origin is the guarantee of its value; there is no other.

 

My art is painting everything. What I see. That is what I want to know.

