DSC_6634

 

What are you filled with piss or vinegar? A jug fills drop by drop, what are you busily filling your head with? Anger, hate, or resentment? “Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned,” said the Buddha. It seems it doesn’t matter how many holy scriptures you read, or how many self help books, how many shrinks you have seen, prayer groups, or how many mantras, scriptures, or Facebook “feel good” stories you like and “share”, what good will they do you if you do not act on upon them?

The mind is everything. What you think you become.

In my experience, it isn’t my anger at another that punishes them, it is I who carry the burden and bear the wounds of anger. It seems the longer we carry them the deeper the cut of the lash. In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves. Because, it is in our own mind…get that…our OWN mind, not in our enemies or in our foes, but in our own mind that we are lured and tempted. We bring to the table our own evil. Descartes said, “I think therefore I am.” But, my experience is that we are what we think!

According to quantum mechanics, we are reality producing machines. We influence our reality. All that we are, arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make the world. The words we use stem from our thoughts. The actions we exhibit come from our speech, the habits we live are borne of the actions practiced, and the lives we live are the collection of our habits. So why do I spend my time thinking about anything but love?

“Whatever words we utter should be chosen with care for people will hear them and be influenced by them for good or ill.”

Those who are free of resentful thoughts surely find peace. “Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.”

However, at this point my clever ego would like to beat me up and say, “You rat! You call yourself peace, and yet you fail to love. You express these ideas, and just today you caught yourself being angry with someone!” “Hypocrite!!!”

And yet, I deserve love. I deserve compassion. I deserve forgiveness. How can I have fault myself for not loving another and at the same time not love myself. There is no one in the universe more deserving of love and affection than me. No one can be found anywhere who deserves love and affection more than you. We are ONE, we both deserve love.

You can search throughout the entire universe for someone who is more deserving of your love and affection than you are yourself, and that person is not to be found anywhere. You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe deserve your love and affection. All people are good.

It is said in Zen Buddhism there are only two rules. 1. Start  2. Don’t stop. Similarly, with regard to loving oneself and ALL those around us, there are only two mistakes one can make along the road; not going all the way, and not starting. The only real failure in life is not to be true to the best one knows. Every test not passed is the lesson one must continue to learn.

So what are you filled with?

 

 

