Flower Bed Small

Click Here to bid on “Flower Bed”

Click Here to bid on “Tulips”

In painting, the golden hour (sometimes known as magic hour) is the first and last hour of sunlight during the day. It is a time, if atmospheric forces cooperate, when a specific lighting effect is achieved due to the quality and intensity of the low angle of the raking light. Because the light travels through so much atmosphere on its way to your eye, it radiates a golden glow. The effect only is possible when the sun is on the horizon, thus only for two hours a day.

As a kid, and to this day I can’t get enough of watching a sunset. But all sunsets aren’t the same. The one you will see on the summer solstice in Juno, Alaska isn’t the same as what you will see in New England. Watching a sunset over water seems the best it can get. Think of it, have you ever been angry or upset while watching a sunset? If people get SAD or Seasonal Affective Disorder because of not seeing the sun, what could a healthy dose of golden hour light do for you?

Yesterday the light was…magic. In that last hour of the day I stood painting flower beds on a hill. It was the happiest I’ve been in a long while. I think it shows in the paintings. I have to say of myself…I’ve become a good watercolorist. I’m happy about that.

Tulips Small

