Afghan Poppies Smallj

 

Click Here to Bid:

Mullah Nasruddin is the starring character in a vast number of amusing tales told in regions all over the world, particularly in countries in or near the Middle East. Each tale depicts Nasrudin in a different situation, and through his viewpoint they humorously reveal commentary and lessons on various life themes. The great allure of the Mulla Nasrudin tales is that they are funny as well as lesson filled, philosophical, and thought provoking.

800px-Harikalar_Diyari_Nasrettin_Hoca_05981_nevit

The Mullah is often depicted riding a donkey backwards. When asked why, he replied, “So I can see where I have been.”

More useful

One day Mullah Nasruddin entered his favorite teahouse and declared, “The moon is more useful than the sun”. An old man asked, “Why Mullah?” Mullah Nasruddin replied, “Because we need the light more during the night than during the day”.

Standing by his word

A friend asked Mullah Nasruddin how old he was. “Forty”, replied the Mullah.  The friend said, “but you said the same thing two years ago!”.  “Yes”, replied the Mullah, “I always stand by what I have said”.

Replace my donkey

“You may have lost your donkey, but you don’t have to grieve over it more than you did about the loss of your first wife”, a villager told a sad Mullah Nasruddin.  “Ah”, said Mullah Nasruddin, “but if you remember, when I lost my wife, all the villagers said we will find you someone else, so far, nobody has offered to replace my donkey”.

Wet Nasruddin

Mullah Nasruddin nearly fell into a pool one day. A man whom he knew was nearby, and saved him from falling in. From then on every time, this man met Nasruddin, he would remind him of the event and how he saved him. After several times, Nasruddin took him to the water, and jumped in. He stood with his head just above the water, and shouted, “Now I am as wet as I would have been if you had not saved me, so leave me alone!”

Mad at the Fakir

A Fakir claimed that he could teach any illiterate person to read through an “instant technique.” “OK,” Nasruddin said. “Teach me.”

The Fakir then touched Nasrudin’s head and said, “Now go read something.” Nasruddin left, and returned to the village square an hour later with an angry look on his face. “What happened?” asked the villagers. “Can you read now?”

“Indeed I can,” replied Nasruddin, “but that’s not why I came back? Now where is that scoundrel Fakir?”

“Mullah,” the people said, “he taught you to read in no more than a minute. So what makes you think he’s a scoundrel?”

“Well,” Nasruddin explained, “I was just reading a book that asserted, ‘All Fakirs are frauds.’“

