DSC_6835

I’ve always wanted to do a painting of me sitting in an old claw foot tub with a pair of cowboy boots and a cowboy hat. I have wanted to do this for over 10 years…finally the chance has arrived. I started work this last weekend on a BIG canvas.

For the last 3 years, I haven’t painted anything big. In fact most of my work has been 9 x 12, 8 x 10, or 12 x 16. This painting is 4 ft by 3 feet, and as such, much more of an undertaking.

I believe it will take me awhile, but the above is the work of 3.5 hours. I am very excited about this project. It feels good to paint big again, and it is interesting how much of what I’ve learned painting small informs my choices now.

The biggest lesson is that I don’t really care if I screw it up. I know I have much more canvas, and I can do multiple tries. Honestly, I feel in a very very good space concerning where I am artistically. All the old angst is gone. Really, a day spent painting is better than any day without.

