IMG_0033

My bicycle studio has its advantages. I can paint anywhere just by pulling to the side of the road, and setting up my easel. I am able to notice many things that those passing by in a car would miss. Most of my work is done “En Plein Air” “Alla Prima” or “Premier Coup”.

En plein air is a French expression which means “in the open air” and is particularly used to describe the act of painting outdoors, which is also called peinture sur le motif (“painting on the ground”) in French.

Direct painting [also known as alla prima or premier coup painting] refers to a method by which the artist applies each stroke of paint to the canvas with the intention of letting it stand in the picture as part of the final statement. There is to be no retouching or overpainting after the first layer of paint has dried.

 

Click Here To Bid:

“Behind Silver Falls” Painting A Day Oil on Canvas 6″x 12″ By The Peace Artist

